  | 
Author | 
TOPIC: Correct Call? | 
    
	
	| 
	 | Neal
  January 20, 2016 9:18:02 AM 
  Entry #: 4190296
  | Ok, here's one for ya... Runner @ 3rd and 3rd baseman is playing back towards outfield grass. Batter hits one down the line and the runner takes  foot off 3rd base. Ball HITS 3rd base and bounces up and hits the runner (who is in foul territory). I ruled runner out as hit by a fairly batted ball. Batter gets first. Was I correct?
 
 
  | 
	
	| 
	 | Perry
  January 27, 2016 7:53:03 PM 
  Entry #: 4190747
  | Did the third baseman have a chance at it? Here's my guess. Ball is dead, runner remains on third (ball hit her foul), and the batter is awarded a fielder's choice.
 
  | 
	
	| 
	 | Greg
  February 3, 2016 9:06:33 AM 
  Entry #: 4191122
  | Okay, Neal. I think that you've got me stumped. I'm leaning with Parry. What is the correct answer?
 
  | 
	
	| 
	 | Neal
  February 3, 2016 4:01:18 PM 
  Entry #: 4191158
  | This is an umpire judgment call,  Section 8 E. When a runner is hit with a fair untouched batted ball over foul territory that in umpire judgment no fielder had an opportunity to make an out Then rule the runner safe. If you feel the fielder had an opportunity to make an out then you rule the runner out
  Sorry for the trick question :-)
 
  | 
	
	| 
	 | Greg
  February 6, 2016 7:01:43 AM 
  Entry #: 4191286
  | Thanks, Neal. We need to get into mental shape, as much as physical shape with the season coming soon.
 
  |